From Writer to Patient: My Dental Implant Experience

Hi everyone,

img_3742
Dr. Kazmer (right) and I (left). I could not be happier with my new smile!

Since the start of this blog, I have been writing posts on behalf of Dr. Kazmer’s office. Now, it is time for  me to write from a more personal perspective. About a month ago, I found myself stepping away from my laptop to sit in the dental chair as a patient of Dr. Kazmer’s as I received a dental implant. Consider this a patient review.

Why I Needed a Dental Implant

I fell going up the steps to my house one day, knocking out one of my front teeth. When my oral surgeon’s attempt to put the tooth back  in was not successful, my dentist began exploring other options. It was eventually recommended that I get a dental implant. Long story short, I met Dr. Kazmer and he became the periodontist who would help me through the process of receiving my dental implant.

From the second that I sat down in a dental chair at Dr. Kazmer’s office, I was impressed by his caring bedside manner. He truly made me feel more comfortable and I was impressed by the fact that he took the time to explain everything to me in a way that I could understand.

Undergoing a Bone Graft Procedure

Before getting my implant, I needed an operation known as a bone graft. This procedure would ensure that I had enough jaw bone to support the implant. The bone graft went smoothly, I was numbed well and experienced very little discomfort.

Getting My Implant

A couple months later, I returned to the office. Once Dr. Kazmer had confirmed that enough bone growth had occurred, it was time for me to have my dental implant placed. Dr. Kazmer numbed me and I felt no pain for the rest of the procedure, only pressure. He had the implant placed in about 30 minutes and I was able to return to my normal routine the next day with minimal swelling and hardly any pain at all.

The Final Piece 

A close-up of my mouth. The dental implant is the front tooth on the center-right. It fits right in!

About 3 months after my implant was placed, I came to see Dr. Kazmer again. Impressions for the implant crown were taken. The crown is the “tooth” part of the implant. Dr. Kazmer was able to do a digital impression using the new technology of the TRIOS Intraoral Scanner. The use of this technology eliminates the need for uncomfortable mouth trays and goopy messes. I enjoyed watching the realistic images of my mouth appear on the screen as Dr. Kazmer waved the camera around my mouth.

When my implant crown returned from the lab, I was incredibly impressed by how realistic it is. It was important to me that the tooth look as natural as possible, as it is in the front of my mouth and clearly visible to everyone. The crown is a perfect fit, and it even has the same ridges that the rest of my teeth have. Most importantly, the sturdiness of my crown and implant allow me to eat whatever I want, without having to worry about taking out a retainer or breaking a bridge.

Conclusion 

I wrote this post in the hopes that I can ease the worries of others who are considering getting a dental implant. I highly recommend Dr. Kazmer to anyone who needs a periodontist – he is a true professional who cares about his patients and does excellent work.

I hope that you found this post helpful. If you would like to learn more about Dr. Kazmer or the procedures that he offers, please feel free to visit his website. 

Take care of your smile!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

